cantatas and cleverness

A student of mine did a project on the movie Australia, directed by Baz Luhrman. Typical of his movies, it is grand of scale (hellloooooo: the title is Australia for goodness sake!) and full of music from a wide variety of sources, re-worked to suit his purpose. Most prominent among that music is “Somewhere Over the Rainbow,” which my student described as “everywhere. Oh my god, once I noticed it, it I couldn’t stop hearing it. So much that I thought maybe I was imagining it.”

“You weren’t,” I confirmed. “It’s everywhere.” Including references as abstract as just the accompaniment of the ukulele version by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole.

What she did not notice was the excerpt from a Bach cantata that is also interwoven throughout the score. It’s not credited on the soundtrack. I first noticed it at 47:39 (according to the Amazon Instant Video streaming numbers), though I suspect it happens earlier because it’s just a fragment there, right when Hugh Jackman says, “the boy needs mothering.” It comes back at 1:26:20, when the kid is talking about not belonging anywhere and 1:35:45, when Hugh Jackman shaves. Then it comes and goes almost as much as “Somewhere Over the Rainbow.”

I thought, “oooh! That’s from a Bach cantata!” But I couldn’t remember which one, so I just searched Spotify for “Bach cantata” and figured the famous stuff would come up top. I was right–it was in the top ten search hits. It’s the aria “Sheep may safely graze” from the Hunt Cantata, number 208.

Before I learned that, I thought it was weird that the final scene of the movie is underscored by “Nimrod” Elgar’s Enigma Variations, which never appears noticeably elsewhere in the movie. I was like, “WTF: suddenly Elgar out of nowhere?” It makes some sense: Nimrod was a hunter, grandson of Noah, which parallels the kid in the story.

Then I found the Hunt Cantata reference and was like, “ohhhhhhh. Gotcha. I see what you did there, Baz.

So, there’s a neat, clever thing. But I also wanted to describe how I knew for sure it was from a Bach cantata. See, I took a class in my master’s program called “Bach Cantatas.” And I took one in my doctoral program called “Bach Cantatas.” I must say, the one I took at Westminster, taught by Robin Leaver, just might be the best class I ever took.

It was three hours on a Monday night. We spent the first half talking about the history and analysis of a particular cantata. In the second half of class, we performed the cantata. Each week, a different group of students was responsible for preparing to lead–a conductor, section leaders

Every week for twelve weeks, we discussed and then sang a Bach cantata. It was amazing. One particular memory I have of that class was the week my group lead. I don’t remember which cantata it was, but it was a late one–lots of recitative and melismatic imitative polyphony. During our short rehearsal time, something came up where they played something better than I prepared for, and I said to the orchestra that I was really glad that they were smarter than me.

Robin Leaver told me in the driest way I can imagine, “you made a primary error of conducting: never let the orchestra think they know as much as you.”

He was joking, of course.

It was a class that taught me more about cantatas than I learned in the doctoral level class I took on the same topic–where we never once sang a note. I also learned something about teaching:  the value of creating a class where students make music, do things, not just listen and describe.

EDIT: Right after I posted this, a Facebook friend posted this: http://musicschoolcentral.com/top-10-colleges-music-education-majors-us/

Top 10 Colleges for Music Ed Majors in the U.S.

Experiences like my Bach cantata class with Robin Leaver are why Westminster is on that list.

This entry was posted in academic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

